|Title||Buffalo Bill's Wild West and Congress of Rough Riders of the World|
|Description||Published booklet, softcover, 64 pages. The chromolithographed cover has Western images including horseback riders, buffalo, and a stagecoach, with a central black and white profile lithographed portrait captioned "COL. W.F. CODY." Printed inscription: "BUFFALO BILL'S / WILD WEST / AND / CONGRESS OF ROUGH RIDERS / OF THE WORLD. / HISTORICAL SKETCHES, / & PROGRAMME." Small printed inscription: "GOES / Litho Co. / CHICA[GO]". Page 1 has a photo portrait of Cody and the date 1893, with a staff list of Buffalo Bill's Wild West Company. The booklet is a detailed description of each part of the Wild West show and its historical background.|
|Ownership and History||
William F. "Buffalo Bill" Cody began his Wild West Show in 1883, touring it across the country and in Europe into the early 1900s.
From June through September of 1886, Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show was presented at Erastina, a newly-constructed amusement park in Mariners Harbor, Staten Island. The New York Times reported on the large crowd's excitement at the opening performance: "..The warmest interest was manifested in every feature, from the moment that the Indians and cowboys, assembling at the head of the inclosure, rushed their horses in picturesque platoons to the front of the grand stand until the thrilling finish, when Indians, cowboys, horses, and powder smoke were flying in confusion all over the field at the end of the sham battle..."
The Staten Island performances were variously reported to have drawn between one and two million visitors during the season, with people coming from throughout the region.
|Maker||Goes Lithographing Company|
|Subjects||Wild west shows|
|Lexicon Sub-category||Documentary Artifact|
|Support Acknowledgment||Online Collections Database record made possible by the Staten Island Historical Society, July 2016.|
|Legal Status||Items represented here are from the collections of the Staten Island Historical Society. Materials reproduced for personal non-commercial use must credit the Staten Island Historical Society. Commercial licensing is available.|