Museum logo

Photo Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title [Thom McAn shoe store]
Object Name Negative, Film
Photographer Flamm, Herbert A.
Date August 29, 1966
Collection Herbert A. Flamm Photograph Collection
Description Original B&W film negative. Front view of the Thom McAn shoe store at 170 Richmond Avenue (later renamed Port Richmond Avenue) in Port Richmond, Staten Island. The original negative sleeve has the photographer's handwritten inscription: "Thom McAnn [sic] Aug 29/66 / Int Ext. / 3 negs / 2 prints ext / 1 each int."
(Keywords: New York City, Twentieth Century)
Film Size 10 x 8
Acquisition Gift of Herbert A. Flamm
Ownership and History The portion of Richmond Avenue which runs through Port Richmond (east of today’s Route 440) was renamed Port Richmond Avenue in the 1980s. This building still stands as of 2016.
Earliest Date 1966
Latest Date 1966
Subjects Shoe stores
Storefronts
Stores & shops
Clothing & dress
Interiors
Lexicon Sub-category Documentary Artifact
Catalog Number 79.022.1564
Support Acknowledgment Online Collections Database record made possible by the Staten Island Historical Society, January 2017.
Legal Status Images and text in this database are copyrighted by the Staten Island Historical Society unless otherwise noted. Items represented here are from the collections of the Staten Island Historical Society. Materials reproduced for personal non-commercial use must credit the Staten Island Historical Society. Commercial licensing is available.