|Title||[Richmond Auto Body Works]|
|Object Name||Negative, Film|
|Collection||Staten Island Geographic Collection|
Original B&W negative. Side view of large two-story wooden building that was part of the Richmond Auto Body Works. The large brick building that is partially visible behind the wooden structure was also part of the same business. In the distant background at right is the Bennett House.
(Keywords: HRT, New York City, Twentieth Century)
|Film Size||2.375 x 4|
|Ownership and History||
The Richmond Auto Body Works was originally established as a carriage and wagon manufactory. The large brick building seen in the background, constructed around 1858 by Isaac Marsh, stood on Richmond Road between Arthur Kill Road and St. Patrick's Place in Richmond, Staten Island. Marsh added the wood frame building seen in the foreground in 1869.
After Marsh died in 1896, the business was taken over by John F. Schwiebert, a factory foreman. By the early 1900s Schwiebert advertised that he provided both carriage and auto repair, and by 1917 they were manufacturing truck chassis. The firm was out of business by 1940. The wood frame building was torn down in 1938, and the brick factory building was demolished in 1945. The Bennett House, seen in the distance, still stands as part of Historic Richmond Town.
|Lexicon Sub-category||Documentary Artifact|
|Support Acknowledgment||Online Collections Database record made possible by the Staten Island Historical Society, May 2016.|
|Legal Status||Items represented here are from the collections of the Staten Island Historical Society. Materials reproduced for personal non-commercial use must credit the Staten Island Historical Society. Commercial licensing is available.|