|Title||[Center Street at Court Place]|
|Object Name||Print, Photographic|
|Date||March 31, 1963|
|Collection||Richmondtown Restoration Photograph Collection|
|Description||Original B&W print. View of Center Street at the corner of Court Place in Richmond, Staten Island. The house seen at left still stands as Historic Richmond Town's Stephens-Black House. Two other houses are seen through the trees; there are parked cars on the street. (Keywords: HRT, New York City, Twentieth Century)|
|Print size||7.5 x 9.625|
|Ownership and History||
Built ca. 1837, the Stephens-Black house is located across the street from the Third County Courthouse. It was built for the Stephens family and was later owned by the Black family, both of whom operated a general store in a building adjoining the rear of the house. From 1926 to 1946, the house was the home of Willett and Bertha Conner and their 16 children.
The house became part of Historic Richmond Town in 1963, and was subsequently restored to show its original Greek Revival architectural style.
|Lexicon Sub-category||Documentary Artifact|
|Support Acknowledgment||Online Collections Database record made possible by the Staten Island Historical Society, April 2016.|
|Legal Status||Images and text in this database are copyrighted by the Staten Island Historical Society unless otherwise noted. Items represented here are from the collections of the Staten Island Historical Society. Materials reproduced for personal non-commercial use must credit the Staten Island Historical Society. Commercial licensing is available.|