|Object Name||Print, Photographic|
|Collection||Staten Island Geographic Collection|
Original B&W print on cardboard mount. Front view of the Garret Homan Bakery on Arthur Kill Road in Richmond, Staten Island. It is a two-story building with two horse-drawn delivery wagons stopped in front of the building. A sign mounted on the edge of the roof has inscription: "GARRET HOMAN. / CAKES / RICHMOND BAKERY PIES". Two women stand on the second floor balcony below the sign. Two men stand on the street between the horses. Inscription on the wagon at right: "PIES / CAKES / [&c?] / G. HOMAN, / RICHMOND / BAKER". There is a wooden fence in front of the building. Part of another wooden fence can be seen in foreground at far left.
(Keywords: HRT, New York)
|Print size||10.5 x 13|
|Acquisition||Gift of Alvin Simonson and Emma Montgomery|
|Ownership and History||
This building, presently known as the Treasure House, still stands as part of Historic Richmond Town. The earliest part of the house was built ca. 1700, and the building had several owners in the 18th and 19th centuries. In 1868 it was sold to the Homan family, who resided in the house and also operated a bakery there. For several years they were assisted in the bakery by Claus Holtermann, who later started his own business, which is still operating nearby as Holtermann's Bakery.
|Lexicon Sub-category||Documentary Artifact|
|Support Acknowledgment||Online Collections Database record made possible by the Staten Island Historical Society, May 2016.|
|Legal Status||Items represented here are from the collections of the Staten Island Historical Society. Materials reproduced for personal non-commercial use must credit the Staten Island Historical Society. Commercial licensing is available.|